Scroll to top

The Maw Naing

The Maw Naing 0.8

The artist would like to request visitors to substitute instances of his name in the texts for their’s or someone else’s when reading the maw naing 0.8.

Part 01
Part 02
Part 03
Part 04
Part 05
Part 06
Part 07


THE MAW NAING was born in 1971 in Myanmar, where he lives and works. He studied filmmaking at Yangon Film School in 2005 and FAMU Prague in 2008. He was the first filmmaker from Myanmar in 45 years to screen his feature film at an international film festival. He is also a poet and artist. His short film Again and Again (2005) is based on his poem. It won the Special Mention Prize at Zebra Poetry IFF in Berlin and Between the Pages (2010) is in the permanent collection at the Fukuoka Museum in Japan. His co-directed documentary Nargis: When Time Stopped Breathing (2011) was shown at festivals including CPH:DOX and IDFA. It has won three prizes. His debut feature film The Monk (2014) premiered at Karlovy Vary and has been screened over 45 times at international film festivals. It has won three prizes including a NETPAC Award.